top of page


The Ancient Masonic Order of Alfred the Great

The Ancient Masonic Order of Alfred the Great is an invitational Sovereign Masonic Order which is closely associated with the Masonic Order of Athelstan.

Invitation to membership recognises meritorious service by members of the Masonic Order of Athelstan and candidates are drawn exclusively from that Order.

The Head of the Ancient Order takes the title Sovereign Grand Master. The Sovereign Grand Master also appoints a Grand Legate, who is his deputy.

Nationally and Internationally, the Order is divided into regions, each under the stewardship of a Grand Chancellor.

The Order is governed by an executive known as the Senate, which comprises the Sovereign Grand Master, the Grand Legate, the Grand Chancellors, the Scribe of the King's Council and the Collector of Geld of the King's Council (treasurer).​

Members hold one of three progressive grades:

Knight (KAG), Knight Commander (KCAG) or Knight Grand Cross (GCAG).

AMOAG Members in Dumnonia

         D S Perkins                 KAG                                                      06 Nov 2015

         R F Freeman               KAG                                                      27 Oct 2017

                                               KCAG                                                   30 Apr 2019

         K B Chalkley               KCAG                                                   27 Oct 2017

                                               KCAG                                                   27 Oct 2023

         D R Attwater               KAG                                                      26 Oct 2018

         Rufus “Medical Dog” KAG       (field promotion)                14 April 2018

         C A Cox                       KAG                                                      25 Oct 2019

         J M Daniels                 KAG                                                      25 Oct 2019

        P W Hughes                 KCAG                                                   25 Oct 2019

        A S R Pinnell                KAG                                                     25 Oct 2019

        A C Barker                   KAG                                                      29 Oct 2021

        B W Slade                     KAG                                                      15 Oct 2021

       M P S Bajona                KAG                                                      21 Oct 2022

       A H Barrett                   KAG                                                      06 Aug 2022

      C T Cooper                    KAG                                                      06 Aug 2022

       B B Kessell                    KAG                                                      06 Aug 2022

       J H J Kidd                      KAG                                                      06 Aug 2022

       R Price                          KAG                                                       06 Aug 2022

       P Whittaker                  KAG                                                       06 Aug 2022

       C Court                         KAG                                                       27 Oct 2023

bottom of page